New Tax Treaty between Netherlands and China

On 31 May 2014, a new agreement between the Kingdom of the Netherlands (hereinafter referred to as “Netherlands”) and the People’s Republic of China (hereinafter referred to as the “PRC”) for the Avoidance of Double Taxation and the Prevention of Fiscal Evasion with respect to Taxes on Income (hereinafter referred to as the “new DTA”) its protocol were signed in Beijing.

China and Netherlands have completed the internal legal procedures necessary for the entry into force of the new DTA on 30 July 2014 and 14 July 2014 respectively. The New DTA and its protocol enter into force on 1 August 214 according to Paragraph 1 Article 29 of the new DTA and are applicable to the income arising from 1 January 2015 and onwards.